PDA

View Full Version : splwow64.exe - Bad Image


ElementalWindX
11-15-2012, 12:23 AM
C:\Windows\system32\spool\drivers\x64\3\KCMV3D.INI is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. Try installing the program again using the original installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support.

This is very random. Some times it comes up, some times it doesn't.

Anyone else getting this error? How did you fix it? I've tried reinstalling the only printer on this pc and it still does this. My printer is deployed via gpo though.


*edit* it seems if I manually install the printer and set it as the default, the problem goes away. Any idea how to correct the driver/files it is getting from the server via the gpo? I've reinstalled the printer on the server too using the files I could get from kyoceras website.

FremontPC
11-15-2012, 02:46 AM
How many copies of that file around? Is it picking up differing versions one way or the other?

FremontPC
11-16-2012, 05:02 PM
Were you able to get a fix on this?

ElementalWindX
11-16-2012, 05:20 PM
I ended up installing the printer locally and it seems to have stopped popping up that error. It seems to happened when the gpod printer is set as default and used.

FremontPC
11-16-2012, 05:26 PM
Yeah, that's why I was thinking it was picking up a different version of one or the other file somewhere. Might be worth chasing it down when you've some time to spare, especially in case there's an infection that's trying to hitch a ride on a trusted process.

ElementalWindX
11-16-2012, 11:58 PM
Yeah, that's why I was thinking it was picking up a different version of one or the other file somewhere. Might be worth chasing it down when you've some time to spare, especially in case there's an infection that's trying to hitch a ride on a trusted process.


I spoke too soon. The user reported today that it was still happening. :(

"I got the error this morning when I was exporting information from Quick Books to Excel. Then it didn’t happen again until just now when I tried to print preview a quote in quick books."

It always seems to happen when something is going on with adobe or printing. Not quite sure wtf it is. I ran a sfc a few times. Nothing came up. I might try reinstalling adobe acrobat 8 soon. I uninstalled the adobe reader XI that was installed at the same time as acrobat 8

FremontPC
11-17-2012, 12:26 AM
Arrgh!!!!

Event Viewer giving any clues?

FremontPC
11-17-2012, 04:16 PM
Someone else ran into this and unidrvui.dll was the actual culprit. Check to see how many copies of that are around and maybe nab a copy from a working system? Might not be a bad idea to check the SMART parameters on that drive, just for the halibut.