PDA

View Full Version : EDO Ram?


Blues
08-20-2006, 02:47 PM
Ok I have an old game that I have not been able to play in the longest time and the error is always about a lack of EDO Ram I believe. The system it once played on it played fine until we upgraded it and added a CD-Rom drive. The system is an old Windows 3.1 machine and the game is Populous II on like 5 3.5" Floppy Disks. I want to play this game agian but have never found the answer for the EDO Ram issue.

Bryce W
08-20-2006, 05:53 PM
Does the game specifically mention EDO ram? The game is most likely freeware/abandonware now days so your best bet is to just download it and run it on your current PC.

Blues
08-20-2006, 11:04 PM
I still have the old disk to install it I love the game I never got rid of it and I believe it is EDO Ram is mentions specificly I would have to install it agian to find out

Maybe it isn't EDO I am forgeting what type it mentions... ****

I think it might have been EMS Ram it is old so yeah

hext
11-01-2007, 09:14 PM
Basically EDO was pre-SDRAM and was better than DRAM, anyway a quick google search brought up

dosgamer.com/populous-ii-trials-of-the-olympian-gods/

available to download free..

Blues
11-02-2007, 05:36 PM
It wasn't EDO RAM and the problem was solved by getting DOSBox

Joe The PC Doc
11-15-2007, 06:59 PM
Populous is sweet!! Fond memories of that one..
Syndicate was another great classic made by Bullfrog.

Those days were gaming Nirvana!