PDA

View Full Version : Exchange 2007 and no-ip help

itech88
07-01-2012, 04:31 AM
I am wanting to switch my email from my hosting provider to my own server. I would still like to host the website with my hosting provider(hostgator) but move mail to my server. I have a dynamic ip and my isp is not blocking port 25. I have a no-ip plus account also. The server that this will be set up on is Server 2008r2 and has Exchange 2007 on it. I am needing some help with mx records, dns, config of Exchange to start sending and receiving mail, i have an untangle box setup and have forwarded port 25 to my soon to be mail server. This is my first time dabbling with exchange so if someone has some good documentation or tips for me that would be great.

Thanks

OfficeTechs
07-01-2012, 08:14 AM
get a static ip for starters.

Parkwaytech
07-01-2012, 05:18 PM
Definitely get a static IP. Also, why Exchange 2007? You should be using Exchange 2010. And, if you haven't installed Exchange before I recommend trying this with a test domain first. Don't risk your own email until you know what you are doing.

cooltech
07-01-2012, 05:33 PM
i think that is what no-ip does. Since this sound like a house ip.
Have you thought about Zimbra open source? http://www.zimbra.com/products/zimbra-open-source.html http://www.zimbra.com/downloads/os-downloads.html

This might be an easier way. And you can always virtualize this, it if want too.

techmaverick85
07-03-2012, 10:33 AM
As you're just dabbling, a dynamic IP is OK...I would recommend using a smarthost though for outbound email (Hub Transport > Send Connectors> Modify the * connector, and specify 'route mail through these smarthosts' - or something along those lines) as sending from a dynamic IP will mean some email won't get delievered.

setup a cname for 'mail.yourdomain.com' point it at your no-ip record

set up an mx record with a priority of whatever (lowest number) and point it at mail.yourdomain.com

Your firewall config seems to be OK.