PDA

View Full Version : Assistance requested: 2nd user lcd screen wrong one?

Chewie
04-29-2012, 04:56 PM
Up until now I have not done anything more invasive to a laptop than changing a hard drive or adding RAM so I appreciate I am a novice on them.
Having managed to crib a few dud units to work on, I have bought a replacement screen for a Satellite 100-170. The original screen could be coaxed into life by flexing it a little - when it's display was perfect.
The original screen is a 15" XGA LG/Philips LP150X08, and so is the new one. Underneath the model number, however, there is "(TL)(A2)" on the original and "(TL)(A9)" on the replacement.
The replacement displays the top half pretty much ok apart from a thin red line from top to bottom and the bottom half is garbled.
Please see attachment.

My question is, have I bought a slightly different model or is the replacement screen also a dud? I think it's a dud.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

johnrobert
04-29-2012, 05:04 PM
I would connect it to an external monitor and if its OK I would say screen is bad

Chewie
04-29-2012, 05:13 PM
Oh yes, sorry to forget that. I have connected it to external and it works perfectly.

ITMAN
04-29-2012, 05:17 PM
If you move the screen and it flickers on why chane the LCD? More likely the cable from mb to screen

Chewie
04-29-2012, 05:48 PM
Not merely moving the screen, but actually flexing it - twisting it slightly diagonally; squeezing some areas along the top of the screen would also bring it up.
Moving the cable made no difference.

PCX
04-29-2012, 05:50 PM
Its either a dud or damaged during shipping.

PC-MOT
04-29-2012, 06:00 PM
I would agree with PCX, screen is prob a dud. check connections again, look for bent pins in socket, if all well, then dud screen, red lines and garbled half is a dead giveaway.

Chewie
04-29-2012, 08:40 PM
OK thanks for the input guys. I'll triple-check the connection again in the morning and get back on to the guy I got it from.