PDA

View Full Version : Cahhot create desktop shortcut - Vista


stevenamills
11-02-2008, 01:48 PM
I know, it's Vista, but it's what I have to work with.

The customer's computer is running fine, except:

If you right click the desktop and try to create a new shortcut - NOTHING happens - no dialogue box - NOTHING.

Also, you can't drag a desktop item to the Quick Launch bar. I assume these are related.

I used a script from Kelley's site with no luck. Google hasn't helped.

I'm stumped.

Any ideas?

Steve

stevenamills
11-03-2008, 02:02 AM
Thanks for responding. I agree with you, it smelled like a corrupted profile or permission issue, but it wasn't.

Somehow he lnk file association got screwed - once that was fixed, everything started working.

Strange!

iptech
11-03-2008, 01:03 PM
Strange!
That's Vista!

gunslinger
11-03-2008, 01:09 PM
That's Vista!

Wonderful thing ain't it? :D

darren1270
11-05-2008, 11:29 AM
Wonderful thing ain't it? :D

Yes it is... Bring me all the vista calls..... lol