PDA

View Full Version : standard operating procedure for virus/spyware removal jobs

silvano
10-15-2008, 04:57 PM
Im somewhat new to this, so Im trying to develop a good way to go through jobs and scans quickly and efficiently. So far, this is my S.O.P.

Turn off system restore. Install AVG, and malware bytes, anti-malware. Scan on system. Pull drive, run avira, avg, and antimalware on a different system set up for scanning. Plug drive back in, uninstall everything, leave avg free, if they have no AV. Run CCleaner portable, then hope everythings alright :D If its a rogue program, ill usually run rogue remover, and occassionally, ill have to clean up remnants in the startup or registry. I'd really like to find a better way to go about doing these types of jobs though. Any ideas, or comments? Thanks guys.

Jager
10-15-2008, 06:48 PM
You'll typically be better off running the external scan first if you plan to do one; that reduces the back and forth and also can help remove the bulk without having to worry about the local PC trying to prevent your clean-up process.

tartis
10-15-2008, 07:46 PM
I always do an external scan using UBCD with Spybot, SuperAntiSpyware, and AVG before booting into Windows and loading Anti SPyware/Malware software on an infected machine.

Arcadio
01-17-2009, 12:35 AM
I am interested in more replies to this thread, since I am learning to clean infections without formatting and reinstalling the OS.

geekhelp4u
01-17-2009, 02:49 PM
I always start with the Avira or Dr Web Cure it live cd and run the anti virus scan. I then pop in the UBCD4Win and run a quick virus scan and then run SUPERAntiSpyware and Spybot.

Next I start the machine in safemode and run ATF Cleaner and SUPERAntispyware Free - which I usually leave on the machine. I then install AVAST and the definitions and allow it to reboot and perform the boot time scan.

I then boot into Normal Mode and run:

CCleaner
COMODO Registry Cleaner
MBAM
RogueRemover

Next I run HiJack This

CHASEE