PDA

View Full Version : Exchange 2003 blocking valid emails

YOCS
02-14-2012, 09:07 PM
I'm a noob with Exchange and just took on a customer running Exchange 2003that is blocking valid emails all of the sudden and flagging them as spam. Can anyone recommend some sort of filter program or is there something within Exchange that I can look at or tweak... Thanks

Tekko
02-14-2012, 09:11 PM
I'm a noob with Exchange and just took on a customer running Exchange 2003that is blocking valid emails all of the sudden and flagging them as spam. Can anyone recommend some sort of filter program or is there something within Exchange that I can look at or tweak... Thanks

Is exchange doing the blocking or an email gateway? What does exchange message tracking show?

YOCS
02-15-2012, 01:47 AM
Tekko, Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. It looks like Cloudmark Exchange Server is filtering the email for Exchange. Apparently the CES licence expired last July. I will be renewing it tomorrow unless someone can recommend something better. I also enabled message tracking in Exchange about an hour ago and there is a ton of stuff in there (Spam?).

Tekko
02-15-2012, 03:49 PM
I don't know too much about cloudmark, but I suspect that's where your problem lies because exchange 2003 doesn't really have as much filtering options as the newer versions.

Are the emails that are blocked from a specific domain?

YOCS
02-15-2012, 05:33 PM
The blocked emails are not from one specific domain. Some of the blocked emails are from business partners they have been emailing for years. Can you think of another product that would filter the spam.

I'm not sure why they would even be setup with an Exchange server. There are only 7-10 people in the office at any one time. It's a small construction company. I think the mainly use the Public Contacts and Folders. Maybe I should look into getting them off Exchange and implement a simpler solution but, what's out there instead of Exchange?

Tekko