PDA

View Full Version : BSOD on XP Install Disc


Azz
09-07-2008, 07:40 PM
Hi all,

I have a PC that won't boot because of corrupt registry. It looks like system restore wasn't turned on as their are no recovery folders to restore the corrupted registry.

So, I tried my XP Pro CD to do a fresh install, and when it gets to the Widows is loading stage, I get a BSOD.

I have tried different CD's and get the same.

Anyone had this before?

Aaron

nonchalant
09-07-2008, 09:25 PM
Have you run a memtest and hdd test?

seedubya
09-07-2008, 09:27 PM
Lots of times. Usually a RAM problem which also might be why you have a corrupt registry i.e. BSOD, hard reset, corrupt registry hive, windows won't start.....

Get a bootable Memtestx86 and test the RAM. It'd be my first port of call anyway...

MHCG
09-07-2008, 10:34 PM
I've had this problem before. It was a video card with bad memory.

Azz
09-08-2008, 04:27 AM
Running Memtest86+, 19 passes no errors.

abe
09-08-2008, 05:32 AM
Hi azz, is it a dell your having the problem with, I recently had a dell the was bootlooping I tried installing xp pro sp1 and had the problem you described I then installed xp pro without the sp and that solved the problem, (I added sp1 later)
hope this helps

Azz
09-08-2008, 11:14 AM
Hi azz, is it a dell your having the problem with, I recently had a dell the was bootlooping I tried installing xp pro sp1 and had the problem you described I then installed xp pro without the sp and that solved the problem, (I added sp1 later)
hope this helps

Hi,

It is a Dell, have tried with and without SP and still the same.

Have just tried it without the HD connected, and it does the same.

BSOD is 0X0000007B

Aaron

seedubya
09-08-2008, 12:06 PM
7B is almost always a RAM problem. I know you've scanned with memtest but perhaps it's time to swap out the ram and the video card, just to be sure.

Azz
09-08-2008, 12:09 PM
7B is almost always a RAM problem. I know you've scanned with memtest but perhaps it's time to swap out the ram and the video card, just to be sure.

Just tried different RAM, same. Video is on board.

seedubya
09-08-2008, 12:13 PM
Install a video Card.

Azz
09-08-2008, 12:20 PM
OOoooooo might be getting somewhere.

Just messed about in BIOS and found SATA operation. It was on AHCI and after changing it to ATA it "seems" to be working.

Thanks for all the replies.....

HelixComputers
09-18-2008, 09:28 PM
I have had this problem before, my buddies mobo was actually fried.

What are the second parameter's (bracketed) values?

Values of 0xC000034 or 0xC000000E typically indicate that the hard drive is failing, improperly configured, or it's controller is dead.

Let me know.

EDIT: Didn't see second page. My bad.