PDA

View Full Version : Imaging OS

i2omani
08-20-2008, 01:04 PM
i am new to this and i was hopeing if someone have a tutorial on how to image a system and restore it again!

What software you use?
What media you backup you img too

* I will also search google and if i gathered and handful of information, i will try to make my own and posted here.

Regards
Romani

JayTech
08-20-2008, 02:04 PM
I use Acronis true image, It is a very easy program to use both as creating and restoring images but also as a complete back up solution.

Please check out the link, will show you various tutorial videos from youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=acronis+image&search_type=&aq=f
Hope that helps :D
J

NYJimbo
08-20-2008, 02:20 PM
It's really a shame that after so many years Microsoft cant see that many of these tools are so important and either bundle them with the O/S or offer them as a "Power Pack". MS has the manpower to create all these things themselves and make their O/S's so much more user friendly.

solas
08-20-2008, 09:49 PM
ive used g4u - Harddisk Image Cloning for PCs www. feyrer.de/g4u/
g4u ("ghosting for unix") is a NetBSD-based bootfloppy/CD-ROM that allows easy cloning of PC harddisks to deploy a common setup on a number of PCs using FTP.
Once set up i was able to do a school dells with 10GB hd's in 6 min each. takes a while to take the image. But fairly quick to deploy after.

Crgky127
08-21-2008, 03:01 AM
I use DriveImageXML for partitions and Acronis for the whole drive (both on UBCD4Win, Acronis you have to add though).

dipper
08-25-2008, 12:43 PM
I use Acronis on all drives before I start to do any major work on them.

stevenamills
08-26-2008, 02:50 AM

Just curious - do you install it, run from the boot disk or install the plugin in UBCD4Win. I tend to do the latter, as I can do some preliminary scans after the imaging.

Later.....
Steve

NYJimbo
08-26-2008, 02:56 AM