PDA

View Full Version : Couple of question regarding new shop

Big Jim
08-13-2011, 12:48 AM
Hi all,

fairly new to the forum but from what i have read so fa there seems to be a wealth of information and help here. So you'll probably find me spending more and more time here.

My background is that I have been running a mobile repair business for a little over a year and business hasn't picked up like I would have liked it to. Everyone seems to head toward the local PC shop (that I only ever hear complaints about, attitude, prices, workmanship etc.)

I decided to open my own direct competition repairshop. And due to this decided that delivering my flyers with nly a mobile number on would stop for a month whilst I got the shop open and a landline and all the details etc on there. 3 Months later still negotiating SLOW solicitors and business has dropped right off (no flyers = no awareness etc.)

Anyhow bar one more small formality the shop should be leased over to me very very shortly.

my questions are as follows.

1 - how do you deal with partly fixed computers ?
ie - customer brings in broken laptop, you take apart diagnose fault and order parts, my idea was to have plastic tubs big enough to store the said laptop and all associated parts that way it all stays together and I dont have to have either bits of a customers laptop floating around for a couple of days or have to waste time re-assembling whilst I wait for parts ?

2 - How many "stations" do you guys use ?
The building I am taking on is very small and I think I will outgrow it in 12 - 18 months but it is currently furnished as an office and has 2 big curved desks in there, I was thinking of joining these two up to make a workbench and make perhaps 3 stations, do you think that is enough or would I be better asking the landlord to empty the place and build a continuous workbench around the edge to allow me to have something like 6 workstations ?