PDA

View Full Version : Bad RAM or something else???


bitznpcz
07-04-2008, 03:52 PM
Hi all,

Discovered this site this week and think it is a great resource for IT Tech's. I will be visiting a lot in the future - hopefully answering questions too!!

I'm having a problem with a customers PC. The machine keeps shutting down with various BSOD's including 0x0000008E, 0x00000050, 0x0000004E.

It appears to be a problem with the RAM and Memtest confirmed this. However, I installed the RAM in a test rig, ran Memtest again and it found no problems. I also installed some new RAM in the customers' PC and Memtest again reported faults.

Memtest is failing the RAM at Test #7 random number sequence.

Any ideas? Could it be the motherboard?

No obvious faults on the board, psu appears to be OK and I have removed other components...

Many thanks,

Kevin

Crgky127
07-05-2008, 03:54 AM
Try new RAM in old mobo again but in a different slot and re-run memtest.

Is it always and only test 7?

generalj
07-05-2008, 07:52 AM
Yeah sounds like the mobo, possibly the mem slot, like above try a diff slot, also see if nay dust is in the slot, I have seen some really dusty pc's that dust bunnies like to creep into the mem slots.

bitznpcz
07-05-2008, 10:28 AM
Hi,

I have tried both suggestions and the problem is still there. Have tried multiple sticks of RAM and all fail on test #7 in either slot. The computer was dusty when I first collected it, but I always clean with a compressor before diagnosing faults.

The Motherboard is an ASUS P5S800-VM/S - any recommendations on a replacement? If the RAM is OK I would like to re-use in the new MOBO, (DDR) but can only seem to find MOBO's taking DDR2 now.

Many thanks,

Kevin

Pc Fixed Right
07-05-2008, 03:52 PM
I have a similar problem with a machine. The board is new the memory is new but I keep getting an error (page_fault_in_non_page_area) when attempting to do a clean install of windows xp home edition. Both sticks of memory fail in memtest but are fine when installed on a different board.

bitznpcz
07-05-2008, 04:59 PM
have you tried a different PSU? I have found the the power supplies contained in many cheaper units can, under some circumstances, lead to problems because the voltage levels they deliver fluctuate far too much.

Hope someone has a fix for both of us!

Kind regards,

Kevin

Azz
07-07-2008, 07:28 PM
Hi,

Have you checked the CPU temp?

If it is a fairly old PC, take the CPU out, give it a clean, clean the heatsink from dust and thermal paste, apply new thermal paste and refit..

I had a customers PC doing pretty much the same last week, was a P4 CPU and was running at 77oC. Did the above and temps went down to 53oC.

Hope this helps.

Crgky127
07-08-2008, 04:32 AM
Have you tried updating the BIOS?

Edit: Or if there are no updates, reset to default settings.

bitznpcz
07-08-2008, 03:53 PM
thanks for the replies so far...

but still no luck. Have updated the bios and cleaned the CPU and heatsink and applied paste, but still having problems.

Memtest is still failing on test number 7 and various BSOD's still happening:

0x000000de
0x000000c4
0x0000008e
0x0000004e
0x00000024

not having much luck with this machine.

DOH!! also just been outbid on ebay for a replacement motherboard!

Azz
07-08-2008, 04:25 PM
thanks for the replies so far...

but still no luck. Have updated the bios and cleaned the CPU and heatsink and applied paste, but still having problems.

Memtest is still failing on test number 7 and various BSOD's still happening:

0x000000de
0x000000c4
0x0000008e
0x0000004e
0x00000024

not having much luck with this machine.

DOH!! also just been outbid on ebay for a replacement motherboard!

Just out of interest, what are the CPU temps?

Have you done a fresh XP install?

Aaron

Crgky127
07-09-2008, 04:54 AM
What are the hertz for the cpu and for the ram?

bitznpcz
07-09-2008, 07:43 AM
Just out of interest, what are the CPU temps?

Have you done a fresh XP install?

Aaron

The temp is quite high - around 77 degrees.

Haven't done a fresh install yet - customer still looking for disks to reload!

bitznpcz
07-09-2008, 07:48 AM
What are the hertz for the cpu and for the ram?

The RAM is PC3200 (200Mhz) 2GB installed

The CPU is a Pentium 4 3.40Ghz

Thanks,

Kevin

Azz
07-09-2008, 08:41 AM
I would still suggest its the CPU getting too hot. Have you noticed any reduced perfomance after the BSOD?

Have a look at the fan, maybe try another one.

Aaron

bitznpcz
07-09-2008, 01:02 PM
I would still suggest its the CPU getting too hot. Have you noticed any reduced perfomance after the BSOD?

Have a look at the fan, maybe try another one.

Aaron

Yeah, there is a slight reduction in performance following a BSOD. Will try another fan and report back

Azz
07-09-2008, 01:05 PM
Yeah, there is a slight reduction in performance following a BSOD. Will try another fan and report back

Pretty certain its the CPU temps now. The reduced performance is the CPU throttling, so the CPU doesn't get fried.

bitznpcz
07-09-2008, 01:52 PM
Pretty certain its the CPU temps now. The reduced performance is the CPU throttling, so the CPU doesn't get fried.

Have replaced heatsink and fan - Speedfan is still reporting high temps of anywhere between 70 - 81c but so far no BSOD - only running AVG though...

Taking PC back to owners today whilst I await a new motherboard, but will ask them to record any BSOD so I can report back to the forum.

Really appreciate everyones help so far and hope I can return the favour soon.

Best regards,

Kevin