PDA

View Full Version : Taking ownership of mac files via ubuntu

quinnlaup
03-07-2011, 02:31 PM
Hey folks,

I am trying to files from a customers Macbook Pro via ubuntu. I can mount the file system and view all files except those in the "users" folder. When i attempt to either view or copy these files i get an error which says it is not possible because i do not "own" the files. A quick google search says that this should be possible using the chown command, but because i am a complete noob to all things ubuntu i am not sure of the exact syntax to use? Please excuse my ignorance i would really appreciate any help.

kind regards

quinnlaup

Ccomp5950
03-07-2011, 03:47 PM
If you take ownership of the files then when you try to open them in the mac later you won't be able to (and you can't chown them back to the account that had them previously since that account doesn't exist on your computer).

If that doesn't matter to you...

sudo chown YOUR_USER_NAME -R /location/of/file/system/you/mounted

an easier solution that won't involve you haven't to mess with file permissiosn on the mounted system would be for you to open nautilus as root

gksudo nautilus

The only problem I see with it is if you copy and paste the file out onto your desktop it being owned by root but that's easily fixed with chown too.

sudo chown YOUR_USER_NAME -R ~

which will give you ownership of everything in your home directory (including your desktop directory)

hope that helps.

iisjman07
03-07-2011, 04:13 PM
If you take ownership of the files then when you try to open them in the mac later you won't be able to

If it matters than use 'dd' to clone the mac's drive, then after you've 'owned' (;)) the files, restore the clone back with all the file ownerships

quinnlaup
03-07-2011, 05:24 PM