PDA

View Full Version : How can I get more memory?


repairman7458
05-17-2008, 10:10 PM
I have a computer that only has 256 mb of memory and that is the max., it's an emachine etower and the manual says its 256 mb max. So how can I get more memory without spending a lot of money.

Simmy
05-17-2008, 10:31 PM
What model emachine is it? 256 sounds a stupidly low amount. How many memory slots does it have? Sure it doesn't mean 256mb per slot? Cheapest solution is to buy a 2nd hand motherboard and simply swap it.

repairman7458
05-17-2008, 11:06 PM
It's an etower 500is, it has two slots for 128 mb chips only, because I have tried to upgrade the memory.

Crgky127
05-18-2008, 05:36 AM
You could get a motherboard that supports more RAM, but the extra hassle that would bring (combined with how much emachines suck) makes it not worth it. Recycle it (Folding at Home maybe) and get a new one.