PDA

View Full Version : SP3 Link for IT Guys


justpcsupport
05-07-2008, 10:58 PM
Here is the link to download the official release of SP3

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=5B33B5A8-5E76-401F-BE08-1E1555D4F3D4

If that doesn't work for some reason go to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322389 and Scroll down to Obtain the latest Windows XP service pack from the Microsoft Download Center

and click on the Link

Bryce W
05-08-2008, 05:51 AM
Always handy to have. Thanks justpcsupport.
Anyone installed this on clients machines yet? Encountered any problems?

MHCG
05-08-2008, 06:09 AM
I used ctupdate which automatically downloaded the full 316MB SP3. I've installed it on 4 computers with no issues so far.

jj2000
05-08-2008, 06:29 AM
i've got it on all my machines now,no problems at all.

mh348
05-08-2008, 04:39 PM
I installed it on my pc last month (on 23 or 25 Apr) and haven't had any problems.

Johnthegeek
05-09-2008, 01:14 AM
I have seen no issues so far. Honestly one machine was running fairly well. I updated it to sp3 and it seemed faster. Probably fixed some bad system files.

TechPro
05-09-2008, 11:33 AM
XP SP3 field guide from lifehacker:

http://lifehacker.com/385295/field-guide-to-windows-xp-sp3

Holzster
05-10-2008, 01:39 AM
I always wait 2 weeks with MS service packs - I know I am a Linux guy but they seem to have a high percentage of oops releases

Crgky127
05-11-2008, 04:40 AM
http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/e/9/ee9d0116-c9fe-4fc2-b59c-406cbfb6d515/xpsp3_5512.080413-2113_usa_x86fre_spcd.iso

This iso works well.

Blues
05-12-2008, 06:30 PM
Installed it on my laptop and media center so far no real problems. I have had one annoyance I have to go to my mapped drives and open them before I can use uTorrent to download directly to my media center via my laptop.

MrMille
05-12-2008, 11:19 PM
Resist the temptation to install it, especially on AMD boxes.

geekhelp4u
05-13-2008, 03:42 AM
installed on 23 machines, different types - AMD, Intel... not a single problem! Just remember... uninstall ie7 before you install it. the amd problem is usually based on the computer manufacturers oem version of xp! HP seems to be the worst! This is why I always recommend a reinstall for OEM machines, using a microsoft OEM disk not a manufacturer created OEM disk!

Blues
05-13-2008, 07:20 PM
I have put it on my AMD machine which is a custom build and no real problems yet.

GraemeP
05-15-2008, 12:41 PM
I to have installed SP3 on many AMD machines and not one proplem. Might just be lucky so far.

ootuoyetahi
05-15-2008, 02:21 PM
I have put it on my AMD machine which is a custom build and no real problems yet.

Same with me.

rurbaniak
05-15-2008, 06:46 PM
I have successfully not installed it so far!