PDA

View Full Version : Staple ethernet cable idea


Jared
01-27-2011, 12:41 AM
Instead of buying coax staples which need to be hammered in, why not just put down a regular staple with a staple gun, then fasten your ethernet cable to it with a cable tie? Just saved me a few minutes while working for a customer, and I thought I would share.

mjbasford
01-27-2011, 12:43 AM
i use a staple gun and staple my wire directly with that. Just make sure the staples are long enough or they will damage the wire. Also, only works with one wire at a time if you are trying to to multiple.

Brand i use is: Arrow T25 9/16" (14mm)

iptech
01-27-2011, 12:51 AM
Why not just buy a regular cable staple gun that's specifically designed for the job? :confused:

I use one of THESE (http://www.twtools.co.uk/online-tool-sales/CABLE_TACKER.html).

mjbasford
01-27-2011, 01:16 AM
that's similar to what i was referring to, but for convenience i can buy more staples at the local lowes

ATS
01-27-2011, 01:39 AM
i use a staple gun and staple my wire directly with that. Just make sure the staples are long enough or they will damage the wire. Also, only works with one wire at a time if you are trying to to multiple.

Brand i use is: Arrow T25 9/16" (14mm)

That's the same thing I do, staple gun with long staples.

I like the idea of using cable ties on the staple, I'll keep that in mind if I'm running multiple cables.

dipper
01-27-2011, 01:59 AM
Great idea. I would have thought that just using a staple may damage the cable. Using a cable tie though gets around this potential issue.

Jared
01-27-2011, 02:07 AM
Just thought I would share. I do have a staple gun that can do that, but I always end up putting staples through my cable :-(

Also, this works especially well for multiple cables.

TopLevelComp
01-27-2011, 02:18 AM
Why not use these?
http://www.actfs.com/CatalogProducts.asp?nProductsID=95

dbdawn
01-27-2011, 05:18 AM
Why not use these?
http://www.actfs.com/CatalogProducts.asp?nProductsID=95

I have used something similar before with strips of velcro or zip ties, works pretty good if you have to run more than one cable.

Titan-vds
01-27-2011, 02:29 PM
I agree with TopLevel. Easier when you run more cables.

iladelf
01-27-2011, 07:12 PM
Just bought this, pretty handy.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RBE1TQ/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000MWTVJC&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0MGA8A5YBCJ8302R6PZ0

You can buy it and a box of 5/16", 3/8" and 1/2" staples at Menards, if you have one in your area. 5/16" are for CAT5.

Worked well for me, tacking up a phone line in the basement of my house. Much faster than hammering, for sure.

ATTech
01-27-2011, 07:34 PM
Rounded end staples work wonders for cables.

pepperpc
02-07-2011, 03:27 AM
Why not use these?
http://www.actfs.com/CatalogProducts.asp?nProductsID=95

Wow, thanks a lot man. I will look into getting those next time.

I hate letting my Ethernet wires just tangle all over our house. Anyone could trip on them lol.