PDA

View Full Version : I like Vista

lazzo71
05-05-2008, 12:42 PM
Firstly, let me say, I like Vista. I have had it for over 12 months now and am well and truly used to it.
I do need to clarify though, I like shiny things, so the flashy pages won me over.
The only problem that I have really encountered, apart from high resource load, is compatability.
I was receiving the BSOD recently which was frustrating me no end. Being a technician, I was stressing that I couldn't even fix my own computer. I did have some suspicions though, which were well founded.
I found out that, through the memory dump, the mcdbus.sys file was corrupt. Lo and behold, a search on this topic identifies MagicISO as the main offender. I have just installed this program and my system is working fine.
It is nice of Uncle Bill to come up with a new OS, why it has to be light years ahead of the current software is beyond me though.
On a high note, Freecell and Spider solitaire really rock, they are definitely worth the upgrade!!!!:p

gunslinger
05-05-2008, 09:01 PM
One of the best reviews of Vista I have seen.....lol

Trouble-Shooter
05-08-2008, 05:39 PM
I too, like Vista. Many of my tech-support cohorts cry like little girls when they have to fix a PC with Vista. But, at the same time, I've just done what I've always done with a new operating system. I get a system that has the new OS on it, and I use it everyday. I had UAC disabled within the first hour of using Vista. The only reason most of my co-workers don't like Vista is they refuse to do homework and make Vista work the way they want it to. There are bugs, XP had bugs (remember when SP2 first released?), but as a tech I can't feel comfortable fixing Vista until I know it as well as I know XP.

On a side note, I like the Aero Glass theme, and the Chess Titans/other games are awesome.

gunslinger
05-08-2008, 06:28 PM
I honestly don't see Vista being around long enough for us to get to know it well.

syst3merror
05-08-2008, 07:01 PM