PDA

View Full Version : A Computer Techs Job Interview

rai01
04-24-2008, 02:12 AM
Hi guys just want some insight on how a computer techs job interview is like. Honestly I just had my first interview as a Comp. repair tech. today. They gave 2 laptops. I believed when I started they would give me sufficient time to finish my work, But after only 30 mins had passed the person in charge of giving me the test told me my time was up. The Laptops were Dell Inspirion I believe. which I have no knowledge in disassembling. If you guys could share your comments on this and so that maybe my future interviews won't be as bad as this one. Thanks!

Blues
04-24-2008, 02:25 PM
Depending on the problem or the task they were asking of you 30 minutes is not much time. I have had only one and they grilled me about things I don't bother to remember like what TCP/IP stands for. I remembered like 20 minutes after the interview I think it is Tele-Communications Protocol/Internet Protocol. Basicly if they are too vague or ask too much book knowledge your doomed thats a tough interview for anyone to pass.

Nathan H
04-24-2008, 04:26 PM
I haven't been on receiving end of an IT interview for quite some years, but I have been the Interviewer on many an occasion recently.

I generally do a written questionnaire and a practically assignment, the practical consists of a laptop and a PC that I have created faults on,(such as incorrectly seating thew RAM or an IDE cable, even moving the jumpers on the HDD etc...etc..) they have 15mins to give a provisional diagnosis on, if they haven't give me it correctly, I ask what there next steps would be.

the written questionnaire, is part of the application, I have an additional sheet, which has a few questions form the A+ and N+ exams nothing in depth like I/O address ranges, but practical things such as wifi security settings. etc...,

I DO HAVE A TRICK I OCCASIONAL USE........