PDA

View Full Version : Not able to access router


TechamI
12-23-2010, 12:54 AM
Hey guys,

I have a Netgear DG834GU modem / router and i need to access it to allow a few SSL through (I'm just guessing this is where I do it, as I have searched through my firewall settings for a while now looking if I'm in the wrong place please tell me haha.)

I've looked up all the normal IP's you would use to normally access a router.

for example
192.168.1.1
10.0.0.2
10.0.0.1

and many others I've found on the internet. I've seemed to have this issue before and the only way I was able to access it was through an actual web address, I think it was along the lines of "logmein" or something like that. could anyone help me with this.

Thanks.
~Jarrod

Ccomp5950
12-23-2010, 01:09 AM
More than likely it's your default gateway.

Drop to a command prompt and type:

ipconfig /all

Use the IP address of the default gateway.


Barring that, "www.routerlogin.com" seems to be what worked on some other netgears I've worked on.

The Silent Hobo
12-23-2010, 01:13 AM
If the computer is hooked into the router, and the router is set up with a DCHP setup, where it provides the IP address and such,

XP:
start, settings, control panel, network connections, double click the network, click support, what ever the default gateway is at, is normally the router IP address.

Vista/7:
start button, control panel, network and sharing center, click the local area connection link, then click details, the default gateway is normally the IP router.

OR, simply, windows button + R, CMD, ipconfig, the default gateway is normally the IP router.


Edit:
and Ccomp beat me to it :P

TechamI
12-23-2010, 01:14 AM
Thank you very much for the quick reply, both worked great.

much appreciated
~Jarrod

AdamsAPlus
12-23-2010, 07:21 PM
Another option you have is to do a tracert.

I have a few switches, a router, and a modem. Sometimes I need access to the modem and sometimes the router. I just to a tracert to an external website and follow the hops to see the address of my router and my modem. I always for get the ip address. It's like 192.168.2.1 or something like that. I had to set it up special because of some conflict with my router and my modem.

So anyways you can go to cmd and then type in something like

>tracert www.google.com

It will show you all the ip address you go through to get to google.com.

The first one is my router and the second one is my modem. Switches do not show up.

Xander
12-23-2010, 07:33 PM
Jarrod, I know this is going to come across as sounding harsh but how do you know how to use SSL but not know how to find the default gateway on a computer?