PDA

View Full Version : SBS 2008 - Can't add "Domain Users" in folder's security tab


TechGuy71
11-03-2010, 11:44 PM
Working on a Small Business Server 2008 set up as a domain controller. The workstations need a particular folder to have the permissions set so "Domain Users" to have full control. But when I click Add it doesn't find any of the domain's groups.. only the local users. In the Location area it has the computer name instead of the domain name, and i can't change it. I've tried typing in Domain Users (among other things), and also tried Find: but either way it's not there. Same on all the workstations. On one I was able to see the location as the domain name intermittently, and was able to change it, but even that one changed back to the local computer name later on. Its very odd. What am I missing? Please advise if you need clarification.. I know I probably haven't explained it all that well.

Thanks.

TechGuy71
11-04-2010, 02:39 AM
Well I came back and read my post and its about as clear as mud, so I will try to ask it a different way...

Have workstations that are on a domain. Each workstation has a particular local folder that needs the "Domain Users" group to have full control. Problem is, it can't find the Domain Users group.. or any of the domain's groups. All it sees are the local groups. Now I notice that where it says "Location" it says the computer name. That should be the domain instead, right? But it does not let me change it. It seems as though the workstations are logging on to the domain ok, and I am able to see all the workstations and can map folders from the domain. So it is strange that it will not let me use the domain's groups to set permissions.

Any help is appreciated!!

ZenTree
11-04-2010, 10:21 AM
I assumed but best to check as not explicit, all these folders are stored on the server not the individual machines, right?

MobileTechie
11-04-2010, 11:26 AM
Sounds like there is a problem with the machines' domain membership. These odd domain membership problems are quite often related to DNS issues since it's using DNS to find the DC.

I think I'd check the DNS settings on the workstations and the server to start off.

Martyn
11-04-2010, 12:08 PM
It is still logging into the domain?

seedubya
11-04-2010, 01:31 PM
What's the location of the folder in question i.e. the path? Is this just a case of inherited attributes from a higher folder?

TechGuy71
11-04-2010, 03:11 PM
I assumed but best to check as not explicit, all these folders are stored on the server not the individual machines, right?

No, the folders I am trying to change the permissions for are on the workstations. For whatever reason I guess the software requires "Domain Users" to have full control.


Sounds like there is a problem with the machines' domain membership. These odd domain membership problems are quite often related to DNS issues since it's using DNS to find the DC.

I think I'd check the DNS settings on the workstations and the server to start off.

Some other reading up on the issue seems to agree with a DNS issue. I will investigate this further.


It is still logging into the domain?

Yes, they seems slow to log on but they are logging on.


What's the location of the folder in question i.e. the path? Is this just a case of inherited attributes from a higher folder?

It's C:\folder

Martyn
11-04-2010, 03:49 PM
Ok I go with DNS then :)

angry_geek
11-04-2010, 04:21 PM
Make sure you are logging into the workstation as the domain administrator, not the administrator of the local machine.

thecoldone06
11-04-2010, 06:55 PM
Make sure you are logging into the workstation as the domain administrator, not the administrator of the local machine.

x2 filler filler filler

Martyn
11-04-2010, 07:01 PM
Make sure you are logging into the workstation as the domain administrator, not the administrator of the local machine.

i was assuming that but maybe I shouldn't assume anything? :p

TechGuy71
11-05-2010, 03:48 AM
Make sure you are logging into the workstation as the domain administrator, not the administrator of the local machine.

Yup I am.

If any of you SBS gurus are around this late that wanna field some questions and maybe see where this is messed up, I am on the system now. PM me and I will give you my MSN

ATSCF
11-17-2010, 09:19 PM
Make sure that you check OBJECT TYPES and that groups are included in the search and make sure it is searching AD and not local machine.