PDA

View Full Version : I need help with my first Mac repair

WDHIII
09-27-2010, 04:46 PM
I have a MacBook Pro a1260 that will not post. No lights, no noise nothing, just a paperweight. The customer says that his battery has not been charging for several months, so he just runs it on AC power. States that he left the compy powered on overnight and when he returned this AM it wouldn't do anything.

I do not have a spare AC adapter or battery to help with the diagnosis, and I am a total noob when it comes to Macs in general. The AC adapter DOES show a green light when plugged into the magsafe port. The first led on his battery blinks rapidly when I press the test button.

I have reset the PRAM and SMC per this article http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1365

I found an APPLE MACBOOK PRO 15 A1260 DC JACK AUDIO BOARD on ebay, would replacing this be my next logical step or should I try something else?

Thanks for your help,

Wil

09-27-2010, 04:59 PM
Send him to Apple. It might be covered under a warranty extension.

And no, the magsafe connector is not the most logical choice.

anonymous Mac Tech
09-27-2010, 05:13 PM
Send him to Apple. It might be covered under a warranty extension.

Looks like the model with the NVidia chip. I had one last week same symptoms. Couldn't even run the graphics processor test to see if the machine qualified. Had to chat with Apple about it. According to Apple they say it needs to at least chime to be covered, so there was no way I was going to be able to replace the board in house. However, I sent that machine to the depot and requested a review, and it did turn out they fixed it under the NVidia REP. So, yeah I concur.

WDHIII
09-27-2010, 05:20 PM
Thanks for your quick reply. I did see reference to the NVidia chip in my research, but they all said they saw some signs of life in the computer, white light flashing etc. It is good to see that the problem may manifest in this way also.

Should I contact Apple on his behalf?