PDA

View Full Version : Does Fab's Autobackup work for migrating to Windows 7?


TechGuy71
09-23-2010, 06:51 PM
I have a Vista machine in and they wanted to upgrade to Windows 7. Well they ended up with Win 7 Professional, which wont upgrade Vista Home Premium. I am wondering if I use Fab's to back everything up, will it restore it to Windows 7 or will everything be in the wrong place etc? Is there a better option, or is it better to just do a manual backup in this case?

Thanks

iisjman07
09-23-2010, 07:11 PM
If the machine boots into windows it'll work absolutely fine. The latest version (3) supports xp/vista/windows 7, so it should put stuff in the correct folder as per the OS, and you shouldn't run into any issues (you could always try the trial version and see if that works).

normbarb
11-07-2010, 12:31 PM
If the machine boots into windows it'll work absolutely fine. The latest version (3) supports xp/vista/windows 7, so it should put stuff in the correct folder as per the OS, and you shouldn't run into any issues (you could always try the trial version and see if that works).

Has anyone tried this? I am a bit concerned because the file structure is different and Windows 7 does not use Outlook Express -- What happens to Outlook Express contacts and e-mails. Also, does it use Documents (Win 7) for My Documents (XP), or create My Documents as a new folder in Win 7.

Thanks,
Norm

red12049
11-07-2010, 12:42 PM
Has anyone tried this? I am a bit concerned because the file structure is different and Windows 7 does not use Outlook Express -- What happens to Outlook Express contacts and e-mails. Also, does it use Documents (Win 7) for My Documents (XP), or create My Documents as a new folder in Win 7.

Thanks,
Norm

If you are migrating from Vista, then you don't have OE. I do this regularly, and Fabs will put all the stuff in the right places. If you install Windows live mail before you do the migration, even the mail and contacts will be taken care of easily.

Rick

Martyn
11-07-2010, 01:42 PM
If you are migrating from Vista, then you don't have OE. I do this regularly, and Fabs will put all the stuff in the right places. If you install Windows live mail before you do the migration, even the mail and contacts will be taken care of easily.

Rick

Wow thanks for that, I have Fabs 4 but haven't tried that.:)

ell
11-07-2010, 02:03 PM
If you are migrating from Vista, then you don't have OE. I do this regularly, and Fabs will put all the stuff in the right places. If you install Windows live mail before you do the migration, even the mail and contacts will be taken care of easily.

Rick

Ah ,thats good to know, I haven't run across that yet but was wondering about it. So does it import the old server settings too?

red12049
11-07-2010, 02:14 PM
Ah ,thats good to know, I haven't run across that yet but was wondering about it. So does it import the old server settings too?

Everything but the passwords...

Rick

computerdoc
11-30-2010, 05:13 PM
Does Fabs 4 also account for migrating from 32 bit OS to 64 bit OS Windows 7?

iisjman07
11-30-2010, 05:33 PM
Does Fabs 4 also account for migrating from 32 bit OS to 64 bit OS Windows 7?

I don't think it matters

ell
12-09-2010, 01:42 AM
Everything but the passwords...

Rick

I just set up a new windows 7 and did fab's transfer before setting up windows live mail. How do you go about setting up her mail from the backed up outlook express files that fabs copied?

red12049
12-09-2010, 01:53 AM
I just set up a new windows 7 and did fab's transfer before setting up windows live mail. How do you go about setting up her mail from the backed up outlook express files that fabs copied?

Get ready to import mail, then direct Live Mail to the archive/OE/etc. folder in your Fabs backup. Works fine.

Rick

ell
12-09-2010, 01:56 AM
Get ready to import mail, then direct Live Mail to the archive/OE/etc. folder in your Fabs backup. Works fine.

Rick

where did Fab's put it in her win 7 machine? I'm going to have to import it remotely, my-bad, forgot to ask what her email client was before the migration. Seems everybody uses yahoo or gmail these days.

red12049
12-09-2010, 03:17 AM
where did Fab's put it in her win 7 machine? I'm going to have to import it remotely, my-bad, forgot to ask what her email client was before the migration. Seems everybody uses yahoo or gmail these days.

On the new machine, it would be somewhere in the User folders, I'm at home right now and don't remember exactly which one. You can also get it from whatever transfer medium you used (external hdd, flash drive, etc.)

Rick

ell
12-09-2010, 04:36 AM
On the new machine, it would be somewhere in the User folders, I'm at home right now and don't remember exactly which one. You can also get it from whatever transfer medium you used (external hdd, flash drive, etc.)

Rick

I'm sure I could find it, or transfer it over remotely again, just thought maybe you knew off hand, thanks!

red12049
12-09-2010, 11:58 AM
I'm sure I could find it, or transfer it over remotely again, just thought maybe you knew off hand, thanks!

If she was using Outlook Express, do a search on the new machine for "*.dbx" (without the quotation marks). That will find the folder you need to import from in a few seconds.

Rick

ell
12-09-2010, 01:06 PM
If she was using Outlook Express, do a search on the new machine for "*.dbx" (without the quotation marks). That will find the folder you need to import from in a few seconds.

Rick

Thanks! I copied your message and sent it to her!

red12049
12-10-2010, 01:53 AM
Thanks! I copied your message and sent it to her!

Welcome. let us know how you make out.

Rick