PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Pages - Different Phone Number?

layoric
07-24-2010, 03:39 AM
Going in the local yellow pages. Paid for the whole year, one of those ads a little bigger than a business card. In color, and using one of their phone numbers that tracts how many calls come in, then forwards the call to my business line.

Since this is my first time with this ad in any book, I was interested in truly knowing if the calls were from my new ad or from existing customers. BUT, frankly, I track things myself for how they got the number/contact info.

My concern is that if I use their virtual forwarding number, and I don't end up buying that number after the 1st year, people that write down my number from there will not be able to contact me after the first year. Of course, the way around that would be to give everyone a business card with my true phone number on it and stress to call me using that number in the future. Also, what about those who call the old number from working off an old yellow pages book? They'd call and get an out of service message, and think oh, another business gone under, oh well. I'll try someone else...

The way that the advertising rep explained it of course, is that it'll illustrate how much business you're getting as a result of their services - although I can't help but think more about it now. It seems that this will be more of a help to them than it will be to me.

Have any of you utilized a virtual number through this type of advertising? Do you think it benefited your business or was a detriment?

sedigital
07-24-2010, 04:12 AM
I wouldn't do it, and I would definitely make sure my number is on all invoices/busines cards/stickers, etc. What's to say that if you stop subscribing they offer the number to your competitor with guaranteed results?

vdub12
07-24-2010, 04:21 AM
Just out of curiosity if you don't mind what did you pay for your ad.

layoric
07-25-2010, 05:38 AM