PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate boot cd never works


Andyuk2007
02-05-2008, 11:46 AM
Hi all, My ultimate boot cd never seems to load up at all when i try it on customers pc can anyone tell me what is supposed to happen when it asks you if you want to load it as i press enter to allow it to load but nothing happens.

I think i might download it again and burn it to a different disk or something

thanks guys :)

Bryce W
02-05-2008, 12:04 PM
Which one are you running? UBCD4Win? or one of the DOS/Linux versions?

Andyuk2007
02-05-2008, 01:37 PM
Which one are you running? UBCD4Win? or one of the DOS/Linux versions?


err i'm not sure i thought all the download links were the same, are there two versions then ?

I just want a windows version as most of my customers are windows users.

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html

Simmy
02-05-2008, 01:48 PM
If you want a UBCD with a windows environment like this (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v230/LittlBUGer/WinUBCD/Screens/3_0/Main.jpg) then you need to download UBCD4Win like Bryce mentioned. You'll need your windows XP CD to hand aswell. Link (http://www.ubcd4win.com/downloads.htm)

When you press enter to boot the UBCD disc, you should see a screen similar to this (mine is actually an all black screen, but has the same option);

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/graphics/screenshot.gif

If not then yes it sounds like you need to redownload and reburn the disc :)

Nathan H
02-05-2008, 05:24 PM
hi all

My disk boots but when i select UBCD4Win
it askes mr to inset windows XP disk 1 in to drive A

Any ideas what disk it is asking for?

I've already downloaded the 6 floopy boot disks from Microsft website,
but it doesn't like disk 1 of that set.. got mre baffeld

P.S. im using UBCD4Win

Andyuk2007
02-05-2008, 05:33 PM
If you want a UBCD with a windows environment like this (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v230/LittlBUGer/WinUBCD/Screens/3_0/Main.jpg) then you need to download UBCD4Win like Bryce mentioned. You'll need your windows XP CD to hand aswell. Link (http://www.ubcd4win.com/downloads.htm)

When you press enter to boot the UBCD disc, you should see a screen similar to this (mine is actually an all black screen, but has the same option);

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/graphics/screenshot.gif

If not then yes it sounds like you need to redownload and reburn the disc :)

yeah i'm following the instructions now on how to build it :) i hope it works, I've never used it before so i would appreciate any advice or tips

lward1
02-06-2008, 02:04 AM
Nathan,
I dont think the 6 floppies work, You need an actual Windows XP CD, and that is what UBCD is asking for as it slipstrems it together. I think thats how it works I have not made one in a while so maybe another member can verify it for you.

Gene

Nathan H
02-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Nathan,
I dont think the 6 floppies work, You need an actual Windows XP CD, and that is what UBCD is asking for as it slipstrems it together. I think thats how it works I have not made one in a while so maybe another member can verify it for you.

Gene

Thanks lward1, for replaying, just to clarify, i have already made my disk, but when booting form it thats when it asks me to insert windows XP disk 1 in to drive A, unless I'm mistaken isn't drive A designated Floppy only?

if you have any more ideas please post, thanks again
Nathan H