PDA

View Full Version : How to set up a VPN?


RyansPCRepairs
07-08-2010, 11:37 PM
A client of mine wants to set up a VPN

She has a towing company with multiple computers, and shes about to expand to new locations. she has towing software that has a database that needs to be synced through all the computers.

He has one computer thats running a server for a Camera system on the ip ##.##.67.149. She has a 2Wire Gateway with SBCglobal. Im trying to help her set up a VPN for her software syncing, can this be done on the same computer? Same IP? What steps do I have to take.

I tried tinkering with it but only got an 800 error. I'm pretty newbie with networking so give me some details on the help. Thanks.

Shes gonna need it to work on locations like 100miles away, so not just local. The database file is ~54mb

-Ryan

14049752
07-09-2010, 02:07 AM
Individual computers typically have no bearing on VPN setup, so that's irrelevant.

Basically, you need to plan it out two different ways, depending on the set-up. If they're running some form of Windows server, you can set that up as one of the VPN endpoints. If not, you need to research VPN routers.

Beyond that, I'd be happy to answer specific questions, but I think you'd be hard pressed to find anyone with the time to teach you about VPNs and networking from the ground up. There are plenty of guides online. Read up on it. For a low cost solution, take a look at DD-WRT and go from there.

cmonova
07-09-2010, 02:23 AM
If the database is only 54mg i'd probably look at other software packages on the market and get her something that is web based. Even if you get the locations networked together what is going to happen when a line issue comes up and that location can not access the database? Or worse yet it's the main office with the database on their computer and nobody else can access it?

There are packages on the market for around $300-$500 specifically for towning companies that are web based. In the long run it will be worth it.

Easiest solution, switch the program to a web based, hook them up with google business, put their email in gmail, doc's etc.

14049752
07-09-2010, 02:27 AM
cmonova has a good point.

On top of that, there is also a risk of data corruption depending on the type of database and how it handles network errors.

The VPN may not be a bad idea for the cameras, although you could just port forward to that since I assume it's a web-based interface.

Mushin
07-09-2010, 03:14 AM
I think LogMeIn Hamachi would be a good solution for this. Their are several ways to configure it.

If all computers need to have access to each other then you would use the Mesh configuration. If all the computer only need access to the computer with the database then the hub and spoke method would be good.

But... don't discount the Gateway Virtual Networking option. This is great for gaining access to all items on the network that have an IP (The cameras)

Additionally their can be options for connetivity from laptops with Mobile Broadband connections so this could even turn into a situation where they could realy got hi tech.

I have Hamachi quite a bit and it works well.

Upnorth
07-13-2010, 09:48 PM
If you're not already doing it then use the VPN set up thats already in Windows on a couple of test machines to get a handle on it. Microsoft PTPP may be enough for your needs. Port Forward TCP 1723 and probably UDP 500. Hamachi, as already said, is easy and works ok. OpenVPN is super but not so straightforward to setup.