PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about our new site?


Thedog
06-26-2010, 05:30 PM
Hello,

We are only two persons running the company but we still need a nice homepage. We had one before but we are currently looking at expanding so we wanted page that was easy to edit and so on.

I know you won't understand the language but you could still give some critizism on the layout, like of something is interferingly.

The new site is http://www.saltisdata.se

Our old site was http://www.saltisdata.se/old/ (although the links doesnt work anymore)

I hope that you at least find the new site to be better than the old one :)

vdub12
06-26-2010, 05:43 PM
I opened the page a few times and it seams theres a problem with the formating of the tables. I use Firefox in Linux and out of the 3 times I viewed the page only once was it formated correctly.

http://www.CyberCPU.com/temp/sample.jpg

Thedog
06-26-2010, 05:51 PM
Only tested in Chrome and IE 8, works fine there.

Do you have any trouble with any other pages with your setup?

vdub12
06-26-2010, 06:25 PM
Its random. Some pages are formated correctly and others are messed up like in the screen shoot. Ones that are messed up will display correctly if I hit refresh.

Thedog
06-26-2010, 06:32 PM
Its random. Some pages are formated correctly and others are messed up like in the screen shoot. Ones that are messed up will display correctly if I hit refresh.

Oh, I meant more like if you have problems with any other homepages overall. Ive tried the site on my android phone as well and it works there. Im gonna try to find a site that can generate views from all types of setups, just dont remember name of it at the moment. I think they float like that because CSS is interpreted differently on your browsers then the ones Ive tried because I dont use tables.

vdub12
06-26-2010, 07:03 PM
Oh, I meant more like if you have problems with any other homepages overall. Ive tried the site on my android phone as well and it works there. Im gonna try to find a site that can generate views from all types of setups, just dont remember name of it at the moment. I think they float like that because CSS is interpreted differently on your browsers then the ones Ive tried because I dont use tables.

I can't recall the last time I had a problem with any other web pages.

Thedog
06-26-2010, 07:04 PM
I can't recall the last time I had a problem with any other web pages.

Okey,

Anyway.. I have located the problem down to Firefox. Tried with latest FF on Windows 7 and same thing.

Thedog
06-26-2010, 07:08 PM
http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/forum/1/568476

Redo the whole code for Firefox 3.6 users or just stay the way it is? (works great in all other browsers)

tomdavies
06-26-2010, 07:09 PM
Doesn't display correctly here either and I'm using Opera under Windows 7. Same issue as vdub12 in terms of what it actually renders like.

Seems random in the way that it either works or doesn't. Maybe you need to clear the floats somewhere, but I haven't taken a good enough look at the source to really say that's definitely the problem.

As far as the design itself is concerned I quite like it, looks pretty clean and professional.

Thedog
06-26-2010, 07:17 PM
Guys, I dont want to bug you but:

Ive added <div style="clear:both;"></div> after the banner and for me it does seem to do the trick (did 20 refresh on Firefox without any problems)

Could you guys check as well?

tomdavies
06-26-2010, 07:19 PM
Working fine here now :) All the pages seem to render without any problems, and I've done quite a few refreshes just to check.

vdub12
06-26-2010, 07:39 PM
Looks OK here to.




Filler ..................

mmanna
06-27-2010, 02:07 AM
Very nice layout/design! I'm jealous! I don't see any layout problems in Chrome or Firefox. (Didn't try IE)

Thedog
06-27-2010, 04:09 PM
Btw, found a great service if you want to check how a site look with different setups:

http://www.browsercam.com/

Got like 150 diff OS/browser setups :)