PDA

View Full Version : ACER ASPIRE 5810tz - Bios password help


OhioTech
05-28-2010, 07:55 PM
I have googled for days. I am in a real jam. Operating system (Windows 7) is toast. Tried to boot to a cd, but bios is password protected. Only can get the machine to boot to a cd if I remove the hard drive. Can't use F12 option since it is disabled. Would like to reinstall the OS but since no HD, windows boot disk doesn't see disk.
Owner bought it used. (saw documentation). Doesn't know password. Tried all the backdoor passwords - no love. Machine doesn't throw an error code to try to crack the password. Unplugged the cmos battery overnight- no good. Password must be saved on a chip. Tried Hiren's boot cd- bios crack errors out on the cd-rom. Even took the keyboard off (6 tabs) to see if there was a jumper of some sort.

This is looking bad. The system is only 7 or 8 months old. Any ideas? :eek::mad:

dannyd
05-28-2010, 08:29 PM
If you use a program for removing the password then you need to put the hard
drive into another machine or slave the drive. but easiest solution is to put a new hard drive in.

iptech
05-28-2010, 08:32 PM
Take the hard drive out and copy a boot environment such as Boot PE to the hard drive. As long as you get one with CD drivers that work for that machine (Acer can be buggers) you'll be cooking with gas.

OhioTech
05-28-2010, 09:47 PM
I think add that might do to the trick! Or I could load it then flash the bios?

iptech
05-29-2010, 12:45 AM
I think add that might do to the trick! Or I could load it then flash the bios?
You won't be able to flash the BIOS unless you have the password. The BIOS is locked and effectively fubar'd, you need to work with what you have.

Checkmate
05-29-2010, 02:50 AM
Just had an issue with Aspire 5515, and there is a h/w switch under the ram. If not, have you tried BIOS_PW.exe? That may work

rahimhd
08-03-2010, 10:21 AM
Maybe i can help. Visit my site: http://www.acersnoop.co.cc. Read the readme (http://www.acersnoop.co.cc/readme.html)page first ;)

iisjman07
08-03-2010, 04:05 PM
You should check the whole motherboard for jumpers

curious_mindz
08-03-2010, 06:15 PM
http://www.tech-faq.com/reset-bios-password.html

Read this article this will help i think,

Go with the Resetting the BIOS Password using Hardware option since u have only this option left.

he suggests if the resetting the battery and the jumper method fails then u will have to take the RTC chip of the board and put it back will take lota time but yea since its ur only option right.

OnSiteSolutions
08-03-2010, 08:54 PM
I have googled for days. I am in a real jam. Operating system (Windows 7) is toast. Tried to boot to a cd, but bios is password protected. Only can get the machine to boot to a cd if I remove the hard drive. Can't use F12 option since it is disabled. Would like to reinstall the OS but since no HD, windows boot disk doesn't see disk.
Owner bought it used. (saw documentation). Doesn't know password. Tried all the backdoor passwords - no love. Machine doesn't throw an error code to try to crack the password. Unplugged the cmos battery overnight- no good. Password must be saved on a chip. Tried Hiren's boot cd- bios crack errors out on the cd-rom. Even took the keyboard off (6 tabs) to see if there was a jumper of some sort.

This is looking bad. The system is only 7 or 8 months old. Any ideas? :eek::mad:

I had this same problem recently. You will find that a bios AND sata password has been set, probably by a virus.

The ONLY way to get past this is using a service, such as Rahim's in this thread. I have used him for this same problem with an acer, and he will provide you with the password.

iptech
08-03-2010, 09:39 PM
This thread is six weeks old guys, I doubt if OhioTech is still working on it. ;)

rahimhd
08-04-2010, 05:28 PM
OnSiteSolutions,
thanks for your support mate!