PDA

View Full Version : A+ Cert

XtremeTekCS
01-06-2008, 11:02 PM
Can someone talk to me about the new A+ cert? What do I need to do to get this done? How difficult is it? Any good books for prep for this exam?

Thanks in advanced

ThirdMCC
01-11-2008, 03:33 PM
Any good books for prep for this exam?

I have always found the "... For Dummies" books to be very helpful. I believe they have one for the A+ exam.

nonchalant
01-11-2008, 07:05 PM
From what Ive heard the A+ is one of the easiest certs to get but its also one of the least valued.

Certainly wouldnt hurt to have it on your resume if your looking for this line of work externally..

I studied for mine quite extensively a few years ago but never got round to sitting the exam.

killergamer
01-12-2008, 07:54 PM
So then what is the best Cert you can get? I have the Upgrading and repairing PC by Que. It says that is a good book to study from. Good luck I also am looking forward to taking it.

nonchalant
01-12-2008, 11:33 PM
I'd go for Cisco (CCNA or CCNP preferably), MCP, MCDST or MCSE.

jamesbhp
01-13-2008, 07:33 AM
A+ Certification is rather easy to study directly from a good book if you have some working experience with computers. The newer exams focus much more on the servicing side then it did with technical areas in the past.

If you are servicing for home users or operating your own business, it doesn't hurt to have A+ and Net+ as some of your certifications. If you are dealing with small business and etc. then get some certification in MS products, ie. server 2003 or SBS. And if you are working higher end enterprise and medium businesses, then MCSE and Cisco certifications are more suited. However if you don't do more than end users and small business, Network+ and A+ should work well in proving your competence level to clients; but more knowledge and more certifications never hurt.