PDA

View Full Version : Partition Help


Brandon
12-06-2007, 01:34 AM
I have a computer with a 4GB hard drive on it. C: (System) has 2GB and another 2GB is unallocated space. How do I combine the 2GB of unallocated space to the C: (System) partition to make a total of 4GB C: (System)

Can this be done with just the Disk Management in Windows XP? Are there any free programs that are worth using? Can I even do this without reformatting?

Thanks in advance...

greggh
12-06-2007, 02:37 AM
Use GParted LiveCD: http://gparted-livecd.tuxfamily.org/

DarkEdge
12-06-2007, 03:24 PM
Removed ....

greggh
12-06-2007, 04:09 PM
DarkEdge, while most of us know all about Hiren's disc. We try not to promote piracy here. For me its not out of any moral righteousness, its just because we don't need to draw the wrong type of attention to this board or its members.

Edit:
Thanks for the quick takedown. Yeah it really sucks that the disc is illegal. It is a great disc. But its 90% pirated.

Brandon
12-06-2007, 06:43 PM
Use GParted LiveCD: http://gparted-livecd.tuxfamily.org/

Ok I downloaded this program and tried using it but I think I screwed it up. What I have now is 3.99GB of Fat32 and 31.38MB of Unallocated space. I thought I was good until I restarted the system back up and it doesn't load Windows. Goes to a black screen with a cursor flashing and sets there.

Anyone, know what I might have done wrong?

greggh
12-06-2007, 07:31 PM
Make sure to set the partition active. You might also want to go into the windows recovery console on the windows install disc and run: fixmbr, then fixboot. That should solve it.

Brandon
12-06-2007, 09:02 PM
Make sure to set the partition active. You might also want to go into the windows recovery console on the windows install disc and run: fixmbr, then fixboot. That should solve it.

Thanks a lot. The fixmbr and fixboot commands worked. This board is great! I have learned a great deal on this one!

Brandon
12-06-2007, 09:12 PM
One other thing I notice when I turn this computer on is I have 3 OS options to boot.

Windows XP
Windows XP
Windows

I always select the first one which loads windows. How do I get rid of the other 2 so that does not come up?

Think I found the solution. Going to try this.
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=142511

greggh
12-06-2007, 09:42 PM
Yep, that is the solution. Just edit the boot.ini. If you want a tool by microsoft built for editing it they made bootcfg, its in the recovery console as well.

gunslinger
12-07-2007, 05:06 AM
Its a real shame that one of the best tools out there is illegal.

I agree greggh, I would not want this site to get shut down like some of my other fav. sites have recently. I'm losing them all one by one. :(