PDA

View Full Version : what do you look for in remote support programs


Carus
04-12-2010, 11:04 PM
i hear all this talk about logmein and teamviewer and other solutions and i want to know what features everyone finds they need.

the only remote support i have done was for some windows servers and i only have needed remote desktop connection then, or with linux servers but as with that environment all you need is ssh

why do you use these programs over RDC?
what are the features you use these other programs for? or some of their perks you cannot live without

bscs
04-15-2010, 02:44 PM
Remote Desktop Connection works great. I use it a lot, but it has to be pre configured on the computer and network. With the remote support programs like team viewer or whatever there is usually a person on the other side that needs help and they allow you to connect. Reboot into Safe Mode would be a must for me and I am looking for an option to end processes and stop services through some diagnostic option through the remote software would be great.

supporter
04-18-2010, 04:41 AM
I like being able to work on different versions of Windows OSes and be able to get diagnostic reports easily - which tools like GTA and TV5 have built in.

They are also easier for users on the customers' side to setup.

MendyTech
05-20-2010, 10:34 PM
RDC is a great application, however it needs to be configured within the network to work properly.
A program like TeamViewer on the other hand, doesn't really need any setting up in order to use (& TeamViewer [also] does have the option to do reboots if you set it up with a password).

Personally, at my (full time) job as a network administrator, I have RDC set up and it works great; while jobs that I do for others, I generally use TeamViewer as I have an app on my iPhone which allows me to work even when I can't be in front of a computer. (As a side note: If anyone knows if RDC works over an iPhone, please post how as I never had time to try to figure it out. Thanks!).

Either way both options offer great ways to do remote support. Good luck which ever way you decide!!!

clayb226
10-26-2010, 07:48 PM
I looked, and looked until I finally decided on a free one. It took a little bit to get stuff right, but now it is great, and did not cost me anything. I specialize in open source software, so I always try to find an open source solution.

krtechsolutions
10-27-2010, 01:14 PM
take a look at
http://www.mikogo.com/

its free and it works, its not as fast as teamviewer or logmein rescue, buts it free and it does work great

ComputerRepairTech
10-28-2010, 09:16 AM
A program like TeamViewer on the other hand, doesn't really need any setting up in order to use (& TeamViewer [also] does have the option to do reboots if you set it up with a password).

In teamviewer if you issue the reboot through teamviewer the random 4 digit passcode does not change when the software loads again on boot.

MobileTechie
10-28-2010, 11:44 AM
take a look at
http://www.mikogo.com/

its free and it works, its not as fast as teamviewer or logmein rescue, buts it free and it does work great

Looking at the Mikogo site it appears to be primarily aimed a remote presentations and meetings. How does it fair in the remote support area? Specifically I'm wondering:

1. How easy is it for a client to install - can it be fully automated like the big name products so they just download a file and give/enter a code and you get control of their computer, or do they have to install it fully?

2. Does it support reboot into safe mode?

Cheers

MT

Martyn
10-28-2010, 11:49 AM
TLE might be able to give you information about it, he uses it on his website with instructions

http://www.thirsk-homeitsolutions.co.uk/remote-pc-support

krtechsolutions
10-29-2010, 01:48 AM
No client install it can be run like teamviewer once the session is over and the client computer reboots the software is gone, granted you just can't reconnect with out giving them a new session ID. I have my clients go to join.mikogo.com or help.krtechsolutions.com and it redirects them for me.

Once there you give them a session ID, I have them download the software by click "join" then run twice and bam I am in their machine and the software works with UAC

There is not a reboot in safe mode option at this time

cmonova
10-29-2010, 02:49 AM
We mainly use a Bomgar for remotes. I like it because the minute we connect we can tag it, let it sit there , work on it, reboot it (safe mode also), record the session, chat, and online presentations with multiple people. If we want after tagging it we can come back the next day it's still tagged and we can access it.

Have hundreds of pc's tagged in groups based on clients/busineses and works great.

bradkendall
10-29-2010, 10:56 PM
I use SimpleHelp. It is easy to setup, simple to use for clients, and there is no monthly fee. I wrote a blog post on it here (http://bradkendall.ca/?p=130).

MobileTechie
10-30-2010, 02:12 PM
There is not a reboot in safe mode option at this time

Shame. That rules it out then really.

MobileTechie
10-30-2010, 02:36 PM
I use SimpleHelp. It is easy to setup, simple to use for clients, and there is no monthly fee. I wrote a blog post on it here (http://bradkendall.ca/?p=130).

So if you're hosting this yourself, does it support dynamic DNS?

krtechsolutions
10-30-2010, 11:30 PM
Shame. That rules it out then really.

Why? I hardly ever have to reboot a computer in safe mode to remove a virus, if its that bad I would rather have it in my shop.

I have also used simple help and its great. It directly does not support dynamic dns that would be your router, or have a computer on your network running to support dynamic dns.

MobileTechie
10-31-2010, 09:57 AM
Why? I hardly ever have to reboot a computer in safe mode to remove a virus, if its that bad I would rather have it in my shop.


I find safe mode reboot very useful in many remote jobs so it's a must for me.


I have also used simple help and its great. It directly does not support dynamic dns that would be your router, or have a computer on your network running to support dynamic dns.

Thanks I'll check it out.

callthatgirl
11-02-2010, 02:48 AM
Agrees with Mobiletechie, I love safemode rebootin'

Why? I hardly ever have to reboot a computer in safe mode to remove a virus, if its that bad I would rather have it in my shop.

Safemode is awesome, I remote in regular, find a buggy thing, go to safe mode, do my magic, reboot and I'm in like Flynn. No shop, no house visit.

:D