PDA

View Full Version : OSX in Virtualbox


vdub12
03-28-2010, 07:40 PM
Has anyone successfully ran OSX in virtualbox.

I want to start supporting Apple computers as well as PC's but I want to get some seat time on OSX and the only system I have is an old iMac G4 with OSX10.4.

MrUnknown
03-28-2010, 08:15 PM
as far as I am aware, VirtualBox can not be used to run OSX.

I believe it is possible to use VMWare Player and a hacked DVD to get OSX to install.

anonymous Mac Tech
03-28-2010, 09:44 PM
Has anyone successfully ran OSX in virtualbox.

I want to start supporting Apple computers as well as PC's but I want to get some seat time on OSX and the only system I have is an old iMac G4 with OSX10.4.

Has to be an Intel Mac from what I see in the downloads (even the older builds). But I would assume if you had an Intel Mac running 10.4.11 it should work as host or client OS.

kagman
03-29-2010, 12:28 AM
You need to have VMware Fusion and you can only use OSX server for the virtual machine. OSX 10.5 will not work for a virtual machine, it needs to be OSX 10.5 Server. :(

sjlplat
03-29-2010, 01:58 AM
Yes, it's been done.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3118/2656846278_4c08465620.jpg

It requires a modded version of Tiger or Leopard. I've read that Kalyway works as well, but I have yet to get it to work.

vdub12
03-29-2010, 04:24 AM
Yes, it's been done.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3118/2656846278_4c08465620.jpg

It requires a modded version of Tiger or Leopard. I've read that Kalyway works as well, but I have yet to get it to work.

I have seen many people do it.

I am running a Pentium D 2.8Ghz with OpenSUSE 11.2 as the host system. I can get it to almost boot but I get a kernel panic.

I heard that it has to be booted with ACPI disabled. I have done that with the "platform=x86pc" flag at the boot loader.

The Pentium D processor should be sufficient since it supports SSE3. I verified this by checking SSE3 support in a Win XP vm.

I'm out of ideas. I heard it works in vmware but its dog slow, most people say virtualbox is way faster.