PDA

View Full Version : Wireless setup guide please


Andyuk2007
10-30-2007, 03:40 PM
Hi There

Ok i really dont understand this but when ever i setup a wireless network it never seems to work even after ive followed instructions carefully and i really need to learn how to do this properly.

So do any of you have a link to a easy to follow guide, one with pictures might be helpful as its driving me mad i just cant get to grips with them. I set up everything up and it says its connected to local network but no sites open.

please give me a link to an easy to follow guide before i go mad.

thanks all

Blues
10-30-2007, 05:45 PM
I would say check the router and the computers DHCP settings that might be your issue otherwise it kinda varies with the manufacturer and model as to how to set up the wireless. I just looked up about the device you mention in your previous thread on this topic and it looks like what you are setting up is a Gateway with Router and Wi-Fi. I would suspect you might have a misconfigured Gateway setting if you can't get to the web. Try getting to the device from a wireless if it appears to successfully establish a Wi-Fi connection. Thats my suggested begining place for you and I don't know thier device to know how to configure it.

NWPhotog
10-30-2007, 06:47 PM
Well that is kinda a tall order especially wo knowing what network equipment and what kind of network you trying to set up. Perhaps you could post where you seem to be having problems. Also I would suggest buying some network equipment and practicing at home until you get more proficient.

hext
10-30-2007, 07:09 PM
Well that is kinda a tall order especially wo knowing what network equipment and what kind of network you trying to set up. Perhaps you could post where you seem to be having problems. Also I would suggest buying some network equipment and practicing at home until you get more proficient.

sound advice

portforward.com/guides.htm this site would help too

don't worry soon you'll be them blindfolded!

Andyuk2007
10-30-2007, 09:47 PM
Well that is kinda a tall order especially wo knowing what network equipment and what kind of network you trying to set up. Perhaps you could post where you seem to be having problems. Also I would suggest buying some network equipment and practicing at home until you get more proficient.

I'm kinda looking for some general guides on the whole thing, i just find the instructions that these routers come with confusion. i tried on my router and usb adaptor which is a zyxel 660 prestige HW

focuz
10-30-2007, 10:15 PM
Well their isn't really a general guide as every model wireless router is setup different which is what the other guys where saying.

Basically here are the only general steps to take...

Connect to router via ethernet first, log into router (to do this you just type in the ip of the router into internet explorer) make sure wifi is enabled by browsing the menu on the routers html page and then setup some sort of security like WEP in the same menu.

Where exactly did you get stuck on your setup, or what have you done so far?

NWPhotog
10-31-2007, 05:19 AM
1. Plug computer into router.
2. Log on to router.
3. Make sure router is set for your specific internet provider.
4. Test wireless with laptop.
5. Add security now that functionality is proven.
6. Retest functionality after security is added.

The Goatboy
10-31-2007, 02:05 PM
Assuming a few things here, so forgive me if I'm off:

1. internet connection = dsl or cable modem or some broadband access method
2. your broadband device gets it's public IP address from your ISP
3. set your router to be a DHCP client to the broadband access device
4. setup your "Internal" network settings to whatever addressing scheme you prefer
5. setup the router/WAP to be a DHCP server to internal clients (ie. your laptop or workstation)
6. leave security off temporarily or use WEP until you can confirm you get connected to it (for wireless connections only); for wired connections you should be able to plug into the router and get out to the internet
7. if you haven't already done so, make sure your laptop/workstation is setup to be a DHCP client
8. once you connect successfully via a wireless connection, go back and implement some better form of security (ie. WPA or WPA2 if possible) on the router/WAP and then also on the laptop making sure all info is the same
9. after setting security, again test and make sure you are connected to the router/WAP and try to get out to the internet

That is about as basic and generalized as I can think for you without be vendor specific. If you still continue to struggle with this, let us know and we'll try to keep helping or possibly buy a book on wireless basics. good luck.

Andyuk2007
11-02-2007, 01:45 PM
I did ittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt ttttttttttttttttt!! i did it successfuly yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss :p:p

the problem was with both computers being different names so i renamed them both to the same name. not sure why that was but it seemed to have worked

NWPhotog
11-02-2007, 03:00 PM
I did ittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt ttttttttttttttttt!! i did it successfuly yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss :p:p

the problem was with both computers being different names so i renamed them both to the same name. not sure why that was but it seemed to have worked

Well actually they should have different computer names but be on the same workgroup name .

Simmy
11-02-2007, 03:30 PM
Well done Andy! :D

The computer name/workgroup shouldn't have an effect on the connection to the wireless router though. What name did you change?

Blues
11-02-2007, 04:45 PM
Depending on device and configurations neither computer name nor workgroup name should effect getting to the internet only communication between the two. If you have a domain setup and restrictions imposed on anything not part of the domain that would make a difference.

NWPhotog
11-02-2007, 06:40 PM
The computer name/workgroup shouldn't have an effect on the connection to the wireless router though. What name did you change?

Good point although it will keep them from access each other which may be what he was after ie file and printer sharing. :)

Andyuk2007
11-02-2007, 09:14 PM
Well actually they should have different computer names but be on the same workgroup name .
ohh well maybe both of them were named WORKGROUP by default. but thanks for that

Andyuk2007
11-02-2007, 09:15 PM
Well done Andy! :D

The computer name/workgroup shouldn't have an effect on the connection to the wireless router though. What name did you change?

I changed the computer name to the same one and it seemed to work with full connectivity to the internet.
it might had been the channel id too because it was at 1 and i changed it to 11 and the laptop's signal strength went to all the green bars then i enabled the network key i wrote it down and entered it on the laptop settings and it worked.

yayy go me :p