PDA

View Full Version : Win2k/winxp & ram usage


Rus
03-29-2006, 11:46 AM
Is there any way to make windows let some aplications use mora than 1G of ram??
I have a 2G ram & 2G page file which makes it total of 4G but windows lets one app use max 1.6 (1G ram & 600M system) which is not enough for my needs.

I found this: http://www.ultratech-llc.com/KB/ASP/FileView.asp?File=/KB/MaxRAM.TXT

I have win32 on amd64 and win64 has much better ram managment, can something be changed in win32?

Please I need help.

PS. The aplication in question is AutoCAD.

Kiwwa
05-16-2006, 07:40 PM
I believe the RAM usage issue is something that isn't a code-limited issue or 'feature' of windows, but it has to do with the limitations of a 32-bit codebase (or 32-bit memory addressing, i'm not entirely sure; I'm not a programmer).

Butttt in saying that, i'm not entirely sure it IS that issue, so if I find anything else that could be of help, i'll post for you again. :)

Rus
05-17-2006, 04:17 AM
Ops, I forgot to reply with an answer, it was all in the autocad. It cant take more than 2G ram usage, after that it just crashes.