PDA

View Full Version : Starting out with little experience

dynamicdave1983
09-19-2007, 09:47 AM
Im studying for my A+ with little previous experience, i know how to install xp and upgrade(just about)

I want to gain more hands on experience and earn a little on the side in my spare time.

Shall i first offer installs/virus removal and upgrades?
Will i get alot of work?

Cheers

Any other help will be much apprecieated

Dave

Blues
09-19-2007, 05:21 PM
Offer your service to a smaller area rely more on referals, friends, and family this keeps your work load minimal keep you to an area you are familiar with while you are learning. Offer a general service and some level of assurance that thier problem will be solved in a timely fashion.

Bryce W
09-20-2007, 04:13 AM
Shall i first offer installs/virus removal and upgrades?
Will i get alot of work?
Stick with what you know. Its dangerous to accept jobs that you don't know as they can really hurt your credibility. If you know virus removal/upgrades then do that.

Its probably not wise to expect alot of work to begin with. You have to build up your business over time. Things may be slow to begin with but leave a few cards with every person you visit and they can pass it onto three of their friends, who pass it onto three of their friends etc...

Computer repairs are largely a trust thing, people are a bit uncertain when they first call you but if you prove that you know what you are doing and are reliable, its unlikely they'll take the risk calling anyone else.

To expand your experience, put together some old computers out of parts you were given for free. Fix some relatives computers in exchange for a few beers and if you cant fix something, dont charge.

Fred_G
09-20-2007, 07:44 AM
"To expand your experience, put together some old computers out of parts you were given for free. Fix some relatives computers in exchange for a few beers and if you cant fix something, dont charge."