PDA

View Full Version : Test Rigs?


ninjaman001
08-29-2007, 02:40 PM
I recently saw an old post in the archives about test rigs and there were even pictures of some of them. I think it started off as a post about work areas. This is a cool idea. I am creating a work area in my garage and I would like to know how some of you guys designed your test rigs. I'm considering cutting a section of plywood and building an enclosure that is open and accessible from the top. I'd like to see some more photos of what you guys have so that I can "borrow" some ideas. :D

greggh
08-29-2007, 04:19 PM
Im all for the Do-It-Yourself projects, but I just get my test rigs here: http://www.highspeedpc.com/

They are nice setups, not too expensive (when compared to my time to build one from scratch,) and they work well.

Noodle2732
08-29-2007, 06:07 PM
All i do is find an old server case, with a removeable mobo tray, take the tray out put the mobo on it and have the rest of the stuff just on the worktop. Its definately not the tidiest solution but it works for me and i'd say its the cheapest. also how many time do you want to be able to quickly test a mobo? well all you have to do is unplug the test mobo, put a bit or foam/packaging or something orver it, put the one you want to test over it, connect it all up and test.... it works for me.

Bryce W
08-30-2007, 03:48 AM
Ive used a PC with a large case which gives me plenty of room to move. I sometimes use my old Briefcase test PC (http://www.technibble.com/building-a-on-site-test-pc-in-a-briefcase-2/) too.

I took a look at that highspeedpc.com setup you mentioned greggh. They look awsome and I am really considering buying one. I'll be sure to mention your name when I buy one ;)